What Can an Embedded Librarian Do for My Class?Levels of EmbeddingHow Do I Request an Embedded Librarian?
This is the "What is an Annotated Bibliography" page of the "Home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Home  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.darton.edu/home Print Guide RSS Updates

What is an Annotated Bibliography Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is an alphabetical list of citations (author, title, publication year, etc.) for articles, books, and documents used in your research project. Each citation is followed by a brief descriptive and evaluative paragraph (the annotation). This paragraph helps you, the researcher, as well as the person reading your research paper to understand why you chose to use that particular source. 

 

The annotated bibliography is also the first step in creating your Works Cited page. When you're ready to create your Works Cited page, just delete the annotations, check the formatting, and submit.

 

Abstracts vs. Annotations

Abstracts are descriptive summaries found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles or periodical indexes.

Reading the abstract can save you a lot of time. The summary will allow you to quickly determine whether an article, book, or document is relevant to your research needs.

Annotations are both descriptive and evaluative; they relate the author's point of view as well as the author's authority. 

 

DO NOT COPY THE ABSTRACT FOR USE IN YOUR ANNOTATION!

 

Important Information

Always follow your instructor's directions for your assignments.

If you have specific questions about the assignment, please ask your instructor.

If you need research assistance, please ask a librarian.

Librarian

Profile Image
Dani Vaughn-Tucker
Contact Info
Harold B. Wetherbee Library
Albany State University
Gillionville Campus
2400 Gillionville Road
Albany, GA 31707

229.317.6762
Send Email
My favorite books are:
"What Alice Forgot" by Liane Moriarity and "Sarah's Key" by Tatiana de Rosnay
My favorite TV shows are:
"The Walking Dead" (I have a plan) and "The Middle"
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip